Film Raised $2 Million in One Day on Kickstarter!

I’m really excited by this news. Not only do I love “Veronica Mars” and can’t wait to see it on the big screen, this gives me hope for all shows that were canceled before their time. The big one for me is “Firefly”, as I’m sure it is with many people. I would gladly contribute to a Kickstarter drive to raise money for a “Firefly” movie, or even somehow a more episodic format. After all, as much as I enjoyed “Serenity”, I didn’t think it quite captured the magic of the TV show. It was designed to be done in an episodic, serial format and it excelled in that. While I’m positive there could be a great movie to come out of “Firefly”, I would love for some Kickstarter program to launch a (probably) web-based “Firefly” serial where I could have not just one adventure with the gang but ongoing adventures where we could enoy the benefits of the serial format, following them as larger story arcs progress and characters fall in and out of love with each other, etc. A good TV show can often be more rewarding than a movie.

Anyway, back to “Veronica Mars”. This was a terrific show and I never understood why it got the axe (well, I UNDERSTAND, but . . .). Again, though, as much as I would love to see Veronica kick ass on the big screen, it was designed for the small one and it would make me even happier to see it return to that format.

Still, this is awesome news! Well done, guys!

Michael Bradley - Time Traveler

‘Veronica Mars’ film’s online fundraiser hits $2M goal

Published March 13, 2013

Associated Press

  • VeronicaMarsmovie.jpg

    This 2007 publicity photo supplied by the CW shows Kristen Bell, who plays the title role in “Veronica Mars” on The CW Network. (AP/THE CW)

LOS ANGELES –  “Veronica Mars” fans just bought themselves a big-screen version of the cult favorite TV series.

A crowd-sourcing campaign on the Kickstarter website to raise $2 million for the project hit its goal in less than a day.

“Veronica Mars,” which starred Kristen Bell as a young sleuth, ended its three-season run in 2007. With Bell’s help, series creator Rob Thomas started the effort Wednesday to make a big-screen version.

More than 33,000 contributors had pledged $2.1 million as of Wednesday evening, and the total was still growing.

In his online pitch, Thomas promised, “The more money we raise, the cooler movie we can make.”

The movie is the fastest…

View original post 318 more words

Leave a Reply

