Book Review: The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien

My wife is reading this right now and really liking it . . . although, strangely, it’s taken her longer to read “The Hobbit” than two G. R. R. Martin books back to back! I guess she LOVES Martin. It’s been a while since I’ve read “The Hobbit”, but I remember it being a very fast-paced, fun little adventure — though light on the beheadings. I love the scene where Bilbo confronts Smaug. I’m kind of nervous about how they’re going to handle that in the movie.

Mission Viejo Library Teen Voice

hobbit_cover“In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.” And from this hole came my new favorite fictional character, Bilbo Baggins, the central protagonist in The Hobbit. With the release of the new Lord of the Rings movie, I decided to start reading the famous book. I had high expectations after I found it as number 3 on a list of books to read before dying, and I wasn’t disappointed in the least.

The Hobbit takes place in Middle Earth, a fictional world that contains wizards, elves, dwarves, goblins, and hobbits. Hobbits are small people who love peace and quiet, food, farming, and parties. They live in a land they call The Shire and most of them dislike adventure.

This prelude to the Lord of the Rings trilogy centers around a peaceful hobbit named Bilbo Baggins who has adventurous ancestors and lives in a lovely underground home called…

View original post 192 more words

Leave a Reply

