Book Review: Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson

I gave this book 100 pages or so and couldn’t get into it. The world was interesting, but none of the characters grabbed me, and neither did the plot, or what sense of it I could get in that time. This reviewer seems to have had a similar experience but says it gets much better after page 200, so perhaps I should give it another shot. I have heard excellent things about the series from others. The last time I heard this much unanimous praise it was for GRR Martin’s ASOIAF, and I’m diehard fan of that series now.

H L Petrovic

GardensOfTHeMoon

Book 1: Malazan Book of the Fallen
Published by Tor Books, 1999

Greetings Brave Adventurers,

I have a confession to make. I’ve been reading this book since March (sorry to Meg at Ruminations of a Fantasy Devotee for taking so long to finish it). Every time I’d pick this book up it would be with many sighs and eye rolls. I’d been told it was a good series, so I pushed on.

In the end, the first 200 pages took me nearly five months to read. The other 450 pages took me two days. Like a rollercoaster, it took a while to wind up, but the downwards plunge was well worth it.

Why the procrastination? Erikson doesn’t give you much to hang on to. He head-hops continuously, through both time and space introducing characters and races and settings and politics and concepts at a breakneck speed. The result is that…

View original post 262 more words

One thought on “Book Review: Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson

  1. Hi – and thanks for the reblog! I look forward to reading your review of the book if you do have another crack at it – i’d love to know if you also think it gets better at the end. I have to agree with you, Erikson’s characters are not at all endearing – his main character is pretty much a lame duck in terms of interesting characterisation!

Leave a Reply

