Review: “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”

A great recap of the current state of blockbusters and a nice review of The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug. Although I was very disappointed with the first movie, I’ve been finding myself getting excited for Part Two. I just rewatched Part One yesterday. I wish I could say the bad parts are looking better, but now that I know they’re there I can brace myself, soldier on, and still enjoy the movie. Just the same, I’m hoping for less nose-holding tomorrow. Bring on Middle-Earth, PJ!

NOTE TO THE ORIGINAL POSTER: The new Hunger Games and Thor movies were actually pretty darned solid.

Reel Reactions

The Hobbit - The Desolation of Smaug theatrical poster.jpgWhile 2013 has undoubtedly been a landmark year for film, there has been an underlying woe shrouded underneath all of the greatness so prevalent these last few months.  I’m talking, of course, about the sad state of the modern Hollywood blockbuster.  While blockbusters have never been the torchbearers of originality and innovation, they have always found new and exciting ways to provide unabashed fun and spectacle at the cinema.  Unfortunately, this hasn’t really been the case throughout 2013.  While it seems like there have been more blockbusters this year than ever, with a new one seemingly released every couple weeks, almost every one has been met with a wave of apathy and disappointment.

View original post 1,193 more words

Leave a Reply

